A year ago today, my father passed away.  It’s been the hardest year of my life and it obviously makes it hard to want to celebrate Valentine’s Day.  So I started thinking about gift ideas that would make my dad happy and surprise! it made me happy, too!  I’ve been trying to keep up this positive thought process – basically, when I get sad about missing him so much, I remember a happy memory or think of something he would laugh at or enjoy and it makes it hurt a little less.  So here are some gifts I wish I could get my dad this year:

Personalized Pen Set

This rosewood engraved pen set is gorgeous and exactly the kind of thing my dad would appreciate as a practical and thoughtful gift.

Marble Pound Cake

Like most men, the way to my dad’s heart was often through his stomach.  He loved when we went the homemade route and would have loved a marble pound cake for Valentine’s Day.  Nothing says love like 1 & 1/2 sticks of butter!

Roses

My dad loved to garden so the only type of roses he would want given to him are the kind you can plant.  These rose bushes are available for purchase online!  It doens’t get easier than that.