Every other Saturday, my husband works so I have a full day to myself to run errands, hang out with friends, or watch movies he wouldn’t like.  On a recent Saturday, I was left to my own devices and thought I would share what I do when I don’t have any specific plans.

First, I get myself organized – Pay bills, go through the unopened mail from the week, respond to neglected emails, etc.  When it’s all done, I feel an enormous sense of relief.  I also try to make sure that I carry through with anything that needs done as a result like taking letters to the mailbox or making phone calls, etc.  If I get it all done, I reward myself with blogging or mindless facebook stalking.

Next, I get pretty and head out for the day.  In my mail was a charming notice (it actually said “You Are Awesome” on the front!) from Preen that they are having a sale.  As it only happens maybe twice a year, I have to take advantage and stock up on my Somme Institute regimen.   When I pull up to Preen and they have the word “Sale” in the window, I know I’m in trouble.  I had a great time shopping and even found a present for my mom for her birthday.

I don’t care how long I live across the street from a Catholic church, I will always forget that Saturday at 4:30 is a very popular mass so I can’t go home usually.  I don’t get mad or irritated in the slightest because Saturday mass doesn’t last long and I have Ghostlight Coffee down the street.

I finally get home and start making plans for dinner at Roost Modern Italian.  But that’s a whole other story.