On the way home from Hope Springs (read my series about Hope Springs here) my mom, sister, and I decided to take a different route home and came across Serpent Mound.  In a split-second decision, we turned in and went to see it.

I hadn’t been to Serpent Mound since I was in 4th grade so to see it now after hours upon hours of archaeology classes and labs was pretty amazing and helped put the whole effigy in perspective.

What is Serpent Mound?  Serpent Mound is an effigy mound resembling a snake and egg that sits in Peebles, OH.  Radiocarbon dating places charcoal within the mound to around 900 years old, which leads many archaeologists to conclude that the Fort Ancient culture was responsible for its creation.

Sometimes it’s very easy to forget all of the neat ancient structures and earthworks available to view at all times in Ohio but they’re there and I really need to think about taking a trip to visit as many of them as I can remember from my studies.  I always said while watching the professor drowsily click through slides “When I’m not so busy sometime I should check that out.”  Well, I am certainly not busy anymore so this might be the time.  Super-nerdy Anthropology Roadtrip, anyone?

Serpent Mound
3850 State Route 73
Peebles, OH 45660
Phone (On-Site): 937-587-2796
