Bunny’s Hasty Tasty Pancake House is one of the first restaurants I visited with my husband while we were still just dating (this photo is from 2009 though – a year after we were married).  I thought it was very quaint and reminiscent of where my sister and I spent a lot of time in the summers – off the beaten path in the country.  Over the years, I’ve been to Hasty Tasty a dozen times or more and it’s always a relaxing time spent in another era.

Recently my mom, sister, and I had dinner at Hasty Tasty to talk about my sister’s real estate search in the Dayton area.  Here’s what my mom had to say about Bunny’s:

“Mmm…pie.  Hasty Tasty is very tasty home cooking just like Grandma used to make.”

My sister had this to say:

“Bunny’s Hasty Tasty Pancake House, better known as simply “The Hasty Tasty” or “The Rabbit Shack” is home to a full menu of home-style breakfast, lunch, and dinner on a convenient stretch of Linden Avenue located near I-35.”  She took these pictures and made a neat collage to commemorate our visit.

She also thought I should tell a story from my dad here:

One night, when my dad was young and foolish (1970s), he and some friends went out and had a little too much fun, resulting in my father missing a few hours and somehow waking up in the backseat of his car in the parking lot of Hasty Tasty.  Being an opportunist, he walked in to the restaurant and ordered most of the left side of the menu.  They brought it out to him and he took a bite, became immediately overcome with intense nausea, and had to leave a wad of bills on the table and run outside.  Finding himself again by his car, he thought it best to leave.

The magic of Hasty Tasty is that it’s comforting to eat in a restaurant that has been in operation since 1952.  No matter what else changes around Hasty Tasty, nothing changes inside and it’s nice to visit a place frozen in a simpler time.  Every time I slide into a booth here I know that somewhere back in time, my dad is sitting across the same table hanging his throbbing, hung over head in nauseous agony to the dismay of the other diners. In a place like Hasty Tasty you feel like you really could reach out and touch the past.

Bunny’s Hasty Tasty Pancake House
3509 Linden Avenue
Dayton, OH 45410
(937) 254-8431
