Since apparently you are just as likely to get struck by lightening, it’s a good idea to prepare for what you would do if you win the lottery (and while we’re on the subject, don’t hold up metal rods during thunderstorms).  I’ve also heard that statistically you are just as likely to win the lottery whether you play or not.  It’s nice to know that at any moment, someone could come in and inform me I’m now a millionaire.    At least that’s how I’m going to interpret that information.

A while back people wouldn’t stop talking about the Mega Millions because it was up to $650 million (so the person who won is now wealthier than some countries).  After hearing about it all day, I decided to buy my first lottery ticket – the only problem was that I had no idea what to ask for or how it worked (why doesn’t it have a scratch-off section?  Isn’t that how it works?).  The discussion with the nice lady at the lottery ticket booth at Kroger yielded a little bit of information about the lottery process and a whole lot of discussion about whether or not I would share the loot with my husband or send him packing.

It got me thinking, what would I do if I won the lottery?  Of course there’s the banal paying off of all debt, and maybe even buying my husband a new car (with a gas door that closes and a center console with the lid intact), but what beyond that?  Then I thought about charity because more than making generous donations, with that kind of money I could actually do whatever I want to create the change I want to see.  So I think I would want to improve the community of Dayton by buying houses and storefronts and remodeling them to make them attractive to people looking to settle in the Dayton area or start a new business.  I wouldn’t be working so I would need to create my own work to sustain my soul and this seems like the best way.  And really, it’s quite selfish because I’d be investing in the community to make it a better place to live for me and everyone else.

And I would be doing all of this in a killer new wardrobe…just sayin.

