Sometimes when I step back and take a look around, I realize that I’m nowhere near where I thought I would be at this point.  I had planned on getting a masters by now and starting my PhD.  Then again, I also didn’t know that I would have a husband, dog, and house either.  As I sit in my cubicle in the library of a career college, I have a moment every now and then of memory loss where college-me takes it all in and asks me how I got here, what happened?  I don’t really have an answer for myself other than life is complicated and we can’t all get what we want.  I frequently wonder if I made the right decision in getting a degree in Anthropology instead of something apparently more realistic.  Quotes like the following make me feel a little more sure of myself when doubt creeps in. 

“Note too that a faithful study of the liberal arts humanizes character and permits it not to be cruel.”

– Ovid from Epistulae Ex Ponto, II, ix, l.47

