When I was in 9th grade, I started reading poetry (specifically the Romantics – Keats, Byron, Shelley, etc.) and fell head over heels for the stuff.  Over the years my interest wanes and then for no reason at all I’ll pick it back up again.  I’m currently on another poetry kick and was delighted to discover Postcard Poets, a service that mails you postcards featuring a curated poem or section of a longer work.  You have your choice of curator:  The Lover, The Existentialist, or The Dreamer.  Being a fan of love, I chose The Lover and she just sent me my first of two postcards:

“Not a red rose or a satin heart
 
I give you an onion.
It is a moon wrapped in brown paper.
It promises light
like the careful undressing of love.
 
Here.
It will blind you with tears
like a lover.
It will make your reflection
a wobbling photo of grief.
 
I am trying to be truthful.
 
Not a cute card or a kissogram.”

-From Valentine by Carol Ann Duffy

I was pretty shocked to see that it arrived from Beavercreek, OH because that’s just about 25 minutes from Dayton.  I’m doubly shocked that it says it was mailed May 28, 2012 even though that’s in the future (and people say the mail is slowing down!).  Also, in the photos, I covered my address with a pocket mirror – it doesn’t come with the card.  I think I’ll definitely have to get a larger subscription when this one runs out.  It’s a frivolous expense but thinking about how I would have spent that $5 otherwise (a latte, a new eyeshadow, etc.) this seems a little more enduring and fun.

