Everyone has his or her own version of the ideal sick day.  What do you have on hand?  What do you do to feel better?  Here’s what I do to make the best of a day (or unfortunately several days) under the weather.

  1. Tissues are important, but I have to make sure I have LOTS of them otherwise I don’t use them because I don’t want to run out and then not have them when I really need them.  Did I mention I’m insane?
  2. Tea, for the love of all that is good, TEA!  Peppermint, orange blossom, Ceylon, green with citrus, whatever.  Just lots of it.
  3. Coffee – in this instance it’s just another type of tea except it can help perk you up if you need to drive somewhere.  Like to the store to buy more tissues. Or to the doctor. Or (much more likely for me) to work ::grumble grumble::
  4. Blankets keep you warm and make it very unlikely that you will get up, which helps force you to rest when you’re at home.  It’s important because when I’m missing work I always feel awful about it for some reason and I feel like I need to make it up somehow so cleaning is usually my MO.  If I’m warm and cozy, I tend to stay warm and cozy.
  5. DVR – Sick time is a great time to catch up on all of the Undercover Boss: Abroad that I’ve been missing.
  6. Food, glorious food – Filling your stomach is the perfect way to rule out hunger as the cause of your symptoms.  Cupcakes work especially well for this.
  7. Julia! – My dog just seems to understand that it’s time to rest when I stay home sick.  She’s the perfect snuggle buddy.
  8. Immunity Tablets (this is what I call them, but they are basically for your immune system and they are packed with vitamins in insane quantities)- These fizzy little things are absolutely disgusting like all good medicine should be. 
  9. Zinc Lozenges – Zinc reduces the amount of time a cold should last.  Of course they have an aftertaste of sucking on nickels.
  10. Pity – Just tell me that you feel sorry for me and think I’m a “trooper” for being so positive when I feel so gross.  My parents were especially good at this part (one time they even bought me a teddy bear for having mono).  Because I really am a trooper.     
