Friends, I would love to report that I have so far achieved great and promising success at my challenge to lose 25 pounds by Heedfest (an annual festival held in July) but, alas, I have not really lost any weight at all.  It’s not all doom and gloom, however.  In the process of trying to lose weight, I’ve managed to get about 100% more in shape than I was when I started this whole endeavor.  I’m calling that a midterm win for the time being because it’s such a promising lifestyle change.

There are a lot of benefits to being more in shape.  For instance, you can take a flight or two of stairs at a jaunty pace and have enough breath left over to giggle at the people huffing and puffing around you.  Another boon is that I shaved some time off my 5K walk/run.  My muscles are more toned, I’m getting back into yoga, and I’m looking forward to going to the gym – even on a bad day – which is a HUGE difference from wanting to bury all of my emotions under a pile of ice cream. (Although, if you’re buying, Homemade Peanut Butter n’ Chip, please!)

My current favorite piece of equipment (because it kicks my butt) is the elliptical stepper thing.  I’ve included a picture because I’m finding out not a lot of people know what I’m talking about.  It must not be a common machine.

We balance our exercise time really well by utilizing the “anytime” in Anytime Fitness and spending nice, sunshiney days off outside walking on the trails with Julia!  You can read about our adventures in nature here.

