In elementary school, there was a day when we learned about disabilities.  We had to go around to the different disability stations in the classrooms and try to complete tasks with various things making the tasks more difficult.  For instance, we had to try to button a shirt with socks on our hands, then practice reading braille, etc.  The day was instrumental in creating a slightly more understanding population of kids, as I’m sure they didn’t have days like that in the 1960s.  My favorite station had to be the blind activity because after trying to read braille, a blind lady would read you a story in braille and I was all about story time.

My sister sent me a link to The Black Book of Colors, by Menena Cottin, which she found through soldieronpond.  It’s a remarkable book that, first in braille and then in white text, describes colors using imagery from our other senses.  I can’t think of a better gift for a child – the gift of learning another way to see the world.

