Lately, my two favorite drugstore nail polish brands for at-home manicures would have to be Rimmel Lasting Finish Pro and Wet n Wild Megalast.  Here are the pros of both of them:

  • Curved, flat brush for even application – it basically turns anyone into a pro nail tech (seriously, why didn’t they think of this sooner?)
  • Beautiful, on trend colors that are true – what you see is what you get
  • Good color saturation, not sheer
  • Inexpensive because you can pick these up with your prescriptions and a bag (or seven bags) of discount Easter candy at your local drugstore

I really do like both brands, but the clear winner for me is Wet n Wild Megalast.  Here’s why:

  • Wet n Wild Megalast really does last longer without chipping.  I typically get 10 days out of a manicure compared to 7 or 8 with Rimmel.
  • Wet n Wild Megalast seems to dry faster
  • Here’s the biggest reason:  You only really need one coat of Wet n Wild Megalast if you’re careful to apply the nail polish evenly.

Pictured:  Rimmel (left to right) – 410 Purple Rain, 350 Violet Metal, 110 French White Nail Tip Liner, 270 Steel Grey

Wet n Wild (left to right) – 218A I Need a Refresh-Mint, 250B Sugar Coat, 214C I Red a Good Book (to see this color on my nails, click here)

