There is nothing that says “we are homeowners in Ohio” quite like a cookout.  My husband has been crazy for a grill since the weather turned a few weeks ago.  Saturday, on the way home from an appointment, I felt him turning the car towards North Dixie Hardware unexpectedly.  Once there we found his perfect grill (finally) and took it home (you know, after brunch and a trip to Belmont Party Supply).  He was in a bit over his head with the whole ordeal so I canceled plans to help him clean the house and buy grilling supplies.  We hosted his parents for the OSU v. Syracuse game at our house that evening with hot dogs (vegetarian ones for me!) and asparagus.  I’ve never seen the husband so happy and bonus:  OSU won!

My husband had so much fun, in fact, that he decided to grill out Sunday, too.  This time he made hamburgers with jalapeños and feta cheese (he’s calling them Spartan Burgers after the Michigan State basketball team – get it?  Green and white?).  My burger was made with fake meat but I was still able to stuff it with the filling.  I made asparagus again on the grill and it was better this time.  If you want to make asparagus on the grill, take a pound of asparagus, cut and clean the stalks, arrange them on a sheet of aluminum foil, drizzle olive oil and whatever spices you like (I use red pepper flakes, garlic, sea salt, and LOTS of pepper), and 2 ice cubes.  Wrap the mess tightly so that the steam won’t escape and put it on the grill for as long as the rest of your food takes.  I think 10-15 minutes works.

