I’m fast approaching the halfway point, so I thought I would share what I’ve encountered so far on this journey (if you have no idea what I’m talking about, read this first):

1.  My husband says “This is my favorite song” once every 5 or 6 songs.

2.  Not all Robert Pollard songs ::cough::Nightwalker::cough:: lend themselves easily to working out at the gym.

3.  Explaining the AO journey to non-fans makes you seem like a crazy person.

4.  People will therefore change the subject when you talk about AO – my advice is to let them.

5.  Being someone who sings fairly constantly, I’ve had to stay on top of my habit of trying to look up songs on YouTube when I forget lyrics, notes, or the key to a song that gets stuck in my head.  Twice I’ve started walking towards my computer with the intention of doing this and both times I caught myself before getting into the room.  It’s tricky.

And a thought that I had (because you can’t silence the anthropologist in me forever):  AO is like going from a lay person in a religion to an ascetic.  This is the Robert Pollard fan equivalent to a vow of silence or a vow of poverty, etc.  It’s just not as bad as flailing because it’s completely passive – you just let the music play and stay vigilant to make sure you don’t repeat songs or listen to ANYTHING else.

