Recently I watched The Matrix and gave myself a manicure.  Somewhere between visiting the Oracle and Morpheus being captured it hit me – This is the first time I’ve seen this movie since seeing it at the theatre without my dad.  It made me so sad!  I wanted to discuss it with him again and cheer on Neo with him like we did so many times when I would come home (around curfew) and plop down on the couch to watch it with him.  The Matrix is just going into the ever increasing list of things I miss about my dad.  Sigh.

At least I could do my nails while I watched it though.  If my dad were there, he’d make me do that outside or if it was snowing he might let me paint my nails in the garage.  He was ridiculously sensitive to smells.  I used to do my nails 3 hours before he would get home – in my room – with the windows open and the door closed – and he would know it before he even made it inside.  How the CIA didn’t want his body for testing, I’ll never know.

