Middle school is an awkward phase that lasts 4 years, yikes!  But in all that awkwardness, bonds are formed that, if you’re very lucky, can last a lifetime.  In my middle school, the lunch/study hall/etc. tables were circular and could seat 8 people comfortably (and according to the rules, any more than that would get your whole group in trouble).  So very small, very tight cliques were forged early on.  I could write a whole book on middle school alone, but for now I’ll discuss one memory that has to do with the girls I knew in middle school.  Before most of us were allowed to wear makeup, we still knew that there was something reassuring about gathering in the bathroom to gossip and primp in the mirrors.  What we had instead of makeup was lip balm.  Every girl had at least one lip balm with her at all times in middle school and even if you only had one, it had to be stashed in your pocket for quick access in between classes (it also kept it sort of melty).  I still remember the quintessential favorite lip balm of the girls’ room – Burt’s Bees.  It was minty, sweet, and lasted a long time – we had come a long way from Lip Smackers.

Now, Burt’s Bees has expanded their plain lip balm line to include the benefits of superfruits.  I picked up their Rejuvenating Lip Balm with Acai Berry the other day and wasn’t as happy with it as I hoped I would be.

Pros

  • Acai has a lot of very beneficial qualities like fatty acids
  • Smells fruity
  • Not too shiny
  • Layers well under lipstick
  • 100% Natural – according to the label

Cons

  • Caster seed oil – tastes bad, smells bad, never really feels like it helps
  • Reminds me of old Avon lip balms that never worked (probably because they both rely heavily on caster seed oil)
  • My expectations were high but this is a disappointing lip balm
  • More expensive than cheaper lip balms that work better

I think I’ll stick to the plain Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm of my youth.

