One Sunday afternoon, my husband and I decided to visit the Dayton International Peace Museum.  With a pamphlet and a map, you meander at your own pace through the historic mansion, stopping at each exhibit for as long as you’d like.  The most moving exhibit to me was on the top floor and involved the bombing of Hiroshima.  Along with the gruesome images and startling facts were the paper cranes of Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes – a story very dear to my heart after reading it many times in elementary school.  Sadako is a girl born in Japan who is diagnosed with leukemia and decides to try to improve her chance of survival by folding 1,000 origami cranes but sadly can only complete 644 before succumbing to the disease.  In Girl Scouts and in the gifted program at my elementary school, we worked to complete the remaining 356 cranes and in the process it helped us to understand the devastating and long-term impact of war.

If I were a teacher, I would insist on taking a field trip to the Dayton International Peace Museum.  There are about 3,000,000 opportunities to learn about something new, not to mention the overarching lesson to all of the exhibits – war solves nothing, war achieves nothing, but war destroys nearly everything.

Dayton International Peace Museum
208 W. Monument Ave.
Dayton, OH  45402
937-227-3223
