If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time, you may have noticed that I seem to be interested in finding what I should do with my life.  I seek out inspirational stories of people who defied the odds and pursued their dreams hoping that somehow I’ll get a contact high from their positivity – and possibly find whatever it is that will make me feel like casting aside all doubt and following my heart.  The difference between those people and me is that they know what they want and I just have no clue.  But enough about me, let’s talk about Shane Anderson.

Shane is a cheery person whom I have never seen angry, not once.  He was the band director at my high school and therefore was involved with the drama productions of which I took part (I’m trying not to come off as a drama nerd here but I doubt that will be possible).  I always knew that he liked coffee – I guess because it’s the only non-drama thing I can remember talking to him about.  However, none of this is important – the important thing is that at some point in his life, Shane decided to open a coffee shop and earlier this month, he did.

I can imagine someone might be reading this right now and thinking, “so?  People open businesses all the time” to which I would reply, “wow, you’re a Negative Nelly.”  But really, think about it:  He opened a coffee shop in a bad economy and people pay him money to fulfill his dream!  That’s tremendous.  Allow me to break it down even further for you:  He gets to do something he loves, on his own terms, in a business he owns, for money!  I’m so happy for him, and if I’m being 100% honest…a little jealous.

I’ve been to Ghostlight Coffee twice now and I love it!  The coffee is amazing and prepared with a lot of care and attention to detail.  The baked goods are wonderful and not 3000 calories. (Yes, that’s right, Starbucks sells baked goods that weigh in at 1000 calories over the daily recommended allowance of calories for a normal person.  Just wanted to get that out there.)  The space is cozy and perfect for spending time with friends, alone (the giant windows are perfect for people watching), or with a good book (or Kindle).  Starting today, Ghostlight Coffee is open for the work crowd at 7:00 am so drop in and grab a latte on the way to your cubicle (see what I mean about the jealousy?).

Ghostlight Coffee
1201 Wayne Avenue
Dayton, OH  45410
(937) 985-2633
All photos were taken by my very talented sister, Beth Weeks.  Thanks!
