For the first time, I went to World A’Fair despite this being the 38th annual event they’ve put on.  Honestly, I have no idea how I’ve managed to avoid it all these years.  I love trying new foods from around the world, I love crafts and trinkets from faraway places, and I love to drink – how have I never been to World A’Fair before 2011?

When you arrive, you encounter rows upon rows of booths set up for each participating country, each selling food, drinks, and souvenirs.  The constant surge of people walking every which way can be a little overwhelming – it was for me – but once you’ve had a chance to sit down and plan where you want to revisit, it becomes manageable.  I spent 4 hours there and didn’t get a chance to more than glimpse some of the booths.

Golden Llama

I ate mochi and naan, drank sake and strawberry water, and bought a miniature brass llama to commemorate the afternoon.

This year, World A’Fair was held at the Dayton Convention Center although it has changed venues many times throughout the years.  I’m looking forward to World A’Fair 2012 wherever it’s located.

