As part of my family’s goal to be involved in the community as well as stay active and exercise, we have been participating in 5K events for various charities.  I had a lot of misconceptions about 5Ks and never thought for a moment that I would be participating in one, let alone two so far. 

First, I thought that most people would run.  This has turned out to be false (thank goodness).  I, along with over 75% of participants, walked the whole time or most of the time.  Walking 3.1 miles is not the easiest thing to do at 9:00 am on a Saturday when you’re horribly out of shape.  I feel that it means a lot that I’m able to get out of bed that early, let alone walk 3.1 miles without stopping.  The way I look at it, I have to be burning something like 3 times the amount of calories I would be burning if I were to stay in bed.  There are people who run but I luckily don’t have to interact with them much (they usually finish the race 30 minutes before me anyway).  Seriously though, they should be proud of their athleticism, drive, and stamina – I think it’s great that people like them work hard to keep the American obesity rate under 100%. 

Second, I thought I’d be the last to finish.  My sister says because of my hours of shopping in heels, I’ve turned some ligaments or tendons in my legs bionic and therefore ended up being pretty awesome at walking a 5K.  No matter the reason, I ended up finishing somewhere in the middle both times without sweating much or turning red at all.  I’m happy that my very complex method of staying in shape (umm…drawing a blank here…) has been working (whatever it is…).

Third, I actually might want to start thinking about training to run one someday.  It might not be this year, but eventually I think I’d like to run a 5K.  This will really mess up my current exercise routine of stay-on-the-elliptical-until-ipod-runs-out-of-Camera-Obscura-songs but I’ll learn to deal with that when the time comes.

These photos were taken at the finish line of my first 5K at Beavercreek High School and the surrounding area on April 30, 2011.  This event was to benefit the Family Violence Prevention Center.

Photo Credit: http://www.speedy-feet.com
Photo Credit: http://www.speedy-feet.com

My second 5K was May 14, 2011 at Northridge High School and it was to benefit Hospice of Dayton (a cause very dear to my heart).

